21 awesome PS4 tips, tricks and hidden features

5) Customise your home screen

Did you know that 9/10 PS4 owners have trouble sleeping because they’re bored of the default look of their console’s menu?

To rectify this, go to Settings, Themes, and select a brand new look for your PS4. If you haven’t got any loaded up, select Find in PlayStation Store and find one that speaks to you. Boom - a perfect night’s sleep is now yours.

6) Get PS Plus games without downloading them

This does exactly what it says on the tin, but it’s bloomin’ useful. There was a time when PS Plus members would have to download an entire free game each month from Sony’s monthly selection, but those days are long gone.

This time, instead of filling up your hard drive with games you’ll never get around to playing, you can simply select Add to Library instead of Download on any monthly free game you fancy. As long as you keep your PlayStation Plus subscription going, you can come back and download any game you’ve added to your library, whenever you like. Result.

7) Take quicker screenshots

We all know that tapping the Share button on the controller lets you save a screenshot, but there is a pro way to make this process a lot snappier.

You can either hold the Share button down in a game to take one or, to make the process even quicker, you can tweak the settings to ensure that simply tapping the Share button once will take a screenshot.

To do this tap press the Share button, press options, Sharing and Broadcast settings, Share Button Control Type, then select Easy Screenshots.

8) Resume where you left off

Time is precious, so why waste it firing up a game each time you start your PS4?

Go to Settings, Power Saving Settings, and Set Features Available in Rest Mode. Select Keep Application Suspended, and each time you fire up your PS4 after putting it in Rest Mode, you’ll be right where you left yourself last - whether that’s mid-way through a FIFA match or a game of Rocket League.

It won’t quite work for online games like Destiny though - you’ll find yourself back at the login screen - but even then, you’ll be saving a bit of time.

1
2
3
4
5