iPhone 5 details and pictures leaked

10 Aug 2011

So far this year, no one’s managed to leave an iPhone prototype handily lying around in a bar for us. Instead, someone claims to have found a secret portal (a link in blank space...) to a bit of Apple’s German site where the iPhone 5’s gallery, tech specs and other secrets are kept.

Is it real? If it is, you can expect an infinity screen, super-slim curved back design, dual-core A5 processor and 8MP cam with HD video. If it’s not, you can have a good ogle at what is admittedly a tasty bit of Apple-fawning design. We’re a tiny bit suspect about how close that screen has got to the edge of the phone and the font used to write ‘iPhone’ on the back panel is inconsistent with Apple’s style.

Maybe we’ve heard too many rumours not to be suspicious, but take a look at the video below and let us know what you think.

Read all the iPhone 5 rumours here

Comments

  1. Hugh Jarse

    1 year ago

    WOW - I really hope this is legit because it looks absolutely fantastic. Much more than I was expecting, and soooo thin. It looks too good to be true, so that makes me think it is fishy, but I really hope it is true ...

  2. billfred

    1 year ago

    faked, look at the URL in the very first frame.

  3. billfred

    1 year ago

    Can you imagine using a phone with an infinity screen? Would actually drive me insane.

  4. pitbullvoodoo

    1 year ago

    Spacing on the font in the logo on the back is well shonky - strange they got that wrong because the site looks convincing...

  5. raisin

    1 year ago

    They are fake - done by a person named Peter. Please get your facts straight. Here is a full explanation:
    http://www.tuaw.com/2011/08/09/blurrycam-theatre-presents-the-i-have-too-much-free-time-phone/

  6. shmeremy

    1 year ago

    Dead give away: in the top left of the screen it says "no service" every shot of the iPhone 4 says 3G now that it's on more than one carrier.

  7. markster1971

    1 year ago

    me thinks its fake. i tried the url. guess what just the iphone 4. great try. almost fooled me.

    just wait for the real one.

  8. markster1971

    1 year ago

    ps the website is legit its the german apple website. the link is true. but the bit where the mouse hits the hidden is bull sh*t. tried it.

  9. mbuk89

    1 year ago

    after doing some research i have now realised that the website is actually the Swiss Apple site who also have german language. The chde suffix is correct and the apple.com/chde site is legit as the Swiss site. I have also noticed that link is no longer their. Makes me wonder if the web designers possibly made the mistake of leaving a hidden link temporary. Not sure why though.

  10. mbuk89

    1 year ago

    sorry. i agree with raisin after all i just wrote!! i am correct about the swiss site but i can now understand the dodgy url at the first 0.5 secs of the video... good spot though... the guy certainly put a lot of effort into designing a fake website

  11. hjhanji

    1 year ago

    its all fake...thats what my instinct says...:P...nice efforts though..

  12. mclean007

    1 year ago

    Come on - obviously fake. Putting aside the convincing site and the little giveaway details that have been spotted (fonts etc.), is it really even remotely believable that Apple would leave a hidden hyperlink on a production website to an unannounced product? They're far to careful about upcoming products to do that. For what purpose would the link even have been there in a testing situation?

    Well done to "Peter" on his fake, but seriously, how much spare time do you have?!

  13. Charrua

    1 year ago

    KEEP ON DREAMING! IF YOU SWALLOW THIS YOU ARE FOOLS... INFINITY SCREEN OK, DUAL CORE, WELL EVERYONE HAS IT! ITS OLD TECHNOLOGY NOW,8 MEG CAMERA, HD VIDEO- EVERYONE HAS ONE...
    GIVE ME SOMETHING!!!!

  14. PeteXT

    1 year ago

    to me, this doesn't seem like apple design :/ I imagine that this is just good video editing, anyone could of edited the video to have an apple URL but create your own site. And how would the site be so convincing you ask? Could just save the apple site as a local site then create the fake website. Just wait till the real thing comes out, I don't think it will look like this....

  15. raisin

    1 year ago

    I highly doubt ever using a black aluminum cover. Also, they would never have such a thin bezel on either side of the screen; its not practical

  16. dbt222

    1 year ago

    looks like an 'I SORE' to me..infact i bet it'll be down the 'I CRAPPER' B4 ONE CAN SAY 'i SICK'..Ho Ho !

  17. jb4522jb

    1 year ago

    There is so many great features that go with this phone. The technology is getting so good behind this phone. Keep up the good work. Alarmforce Review

Add your comment

You must be logged in to comment