Your Google Calendar Could Be A Victim Of A Phishing Scam! Here's How To Keep It Safe

It looks like phishing scams are getting a little too clever

If you use Google Calendar and see an unfamiliar notification on it: don't click it. According to cybersecurity expert Kaspersky Lab, it's a new form of phishing attack.

Cybercriminals are reportedly luring unsuspecting Google users to click on links sent to them via the Calendar feature, exposing them to a variety of cyber threats. They were able to do this by abusing a specific feature of the calendar that adds events and invitations automatically.

In some cases, victims are redirected to a website that offers money in exchange for the users to complete an online questionnaire. In order to receive the prize, the victims are asked to enter their credit card and other personal details. However, not only do these victims fail to receive the prize money, their details are possibly sent to scammers who could steal the victims’ money or identity, says the report.

In order to stop scammers from doing so, you will need to head to do these things on Google Calendar: Settings > Event Settings > Select "No" on "automatically add invitations" option > Select "No, only show invitations to which I've responded".

Also make sure that the "Show declined events" under the View Options section is not selected.

“The ‘calendar scam’ is a very effective scheme, as most people have become used to receiving spam messages from emails or messenger apps,” said Maria Vergelis, security researcher at Kaspersky in a statement.

“But this may not be the case when it comes to the Calendar app, which has a main purpose to organise information rather than transfer it. So far, the sample we’ve seen contains text displaying an obviously weird offer, but as it happens, every simple scheme becomes more elaborate and trickier with time. The good news is that it’s fairly easy to avoid such a scam.”