You need to turn on Undo Send in Gmail right now, if not you’ll regret it

The tech gods have heard your prayers, you can now hit rewind on an email you shouldn’t have sent

Have you ever experienced the crushing regret of hitting Send on an email? Now you can crush that regret with Gmail’s newly official Undo Send feature.

Whether it’s failing to attach your CV when sending a cover letter to a potential employer, or sending next-level drunk emails, or accidentally addressing the wrong contact, we’ve all been there before along with crippling bouts of mortification.

But that’s all about to change now because Google gets that life is too short for regrets. Introducing Undo Send, Gmail’s real-life neuralyzer.

Image: Twitter

Turn it on

In your Gmail account, click on the tiny cog icon in the upper right corner of the page, then click on Settings, and in the General tab, scroll down until you see the Undo Send option. Enable that to choose from 5, 10, 20, or 30 seconds of regret time. Remember to hit Save Changes at the bottom of the page to make your impulse-emailing a reversible process.

What it does then is when you send an email, a new Undo option will pop up next to the usual View Message option for whatever amount of regret time you have set it for. Word of warning: Undo Send might not work if you're having connection issues. 

Praise the tech gods for digital redemption. What we need now is for all social media networks and messaging apps to implement this.

Source: Google via Gizmodo