Google has announced that it is making some changes to its Drive and Photos services and how it will be accessed. Currently if you save your photos and videos in Drive, it will be automatically shown in Photos, and vice versa.
Starting July, though, the two Google products will cease to sync as Google's Drive product manager Dan Schlosser and Photos product manager Jason Gupta received feedback that the connection between these services is confusing in a blog post. As such, they're looking into simplifying the experience next month.
You will still be able to keep all files within Google Drive and Photos. It's important to note that photos and videos deleted in Drive will not be removed from Photos, and that items deleted in Photos will not be removed from Drive. This is to ensure no accidental deletion of items across products.
The product managers added that a new feature called “Upload from Drive” will be added to photos.google.com, where users can manually choose photos and videos from Drive to be imported. Once copied, these items are no longer connected between the two products.
Users can still use the Backup and Sync feature on both Windows and MacOS, to upload photos in High Quality or Original Quality. As before, Google says High Quality photos will not count against your storage quota, while items uploaded using Backup and Sync in Original Quality to both services will count only once towards your quota.